MNA Steering Committee minutes 11/3/2021

MNA Secretary Meeting/Meeting Minutes

Mueller Neighborhood Association Steering Committee Meeting

Date: November 3, 2021

Time: 7:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m.

Location: Join Zoom Meeting:

Meeting ID: 923 6802 5880

Passcode: 251297  

Participants: John Thomas, Pat Disanza, Koreena Malone, Joshua Rudow, Jason Sears, Marta White, Laurene Jacob, John Wooding, Tedd Herr, Devon Darden, Joy Butler, Shelly Baldwin, Saamiya Seraj 

Minutes – Laurene Jacob

Approved and posted on the MNA website.

Financial Report– John Thomas

We currently have 324 paid members, 30 new members in October.

We will remind neighbors if they join/pay in November/December they receive a 14 month membership.

Equity Committee – Koreena

Koreena presented a time table beginning 12/2019 thru present day detailing the tireless effort of the Equity Team including  13 meetings with Associa and Catellus  discussing the troubling situation of racism in Mueller.  This was followed by the string of emails between the same group, ATXHorns, and other concerned parties about  Mueller Park’s usage policy blatant discrepancies between white groups and non-white groups.  Saamiya spoke about the need for anti-racism training.   Joy Butler  presented a program from Justice Leaders Collaborative,  “White People Working for Racial Justice” which the Equity Team has determined would be the preferred anti-racism training with 22 slots for Mueller.   The virtual series runs 1/30/22, 2/6/22, 2/20/22 and 2/2722 from 1-6pm.   The cost is $12,000 which is $550/person.   The Equity Team feels many people will pay the cost, but would encourage the MNA to pick up the cost for those who would like to attend but can’t afford the cost.

Motion for the MNA to sign the MOU (Memorandum of Understanding) to confirm Mueller enrollment in the “White People Working for Racial Justice” program.

2nd – Marta 

The SC is in total support of the need for anti-racism training.  However,  there was general concern about making such a large financial decision at one SC meeting. 

Motion failed.  3 ayes, 5 abstentions, 0 nays.

 2022 SC Election  – Marta

As of Friday, November 5th,  the new candidates for the 2022 SC are:  Karen Swenson, Ann Hart, Shelly Baldwin, Devon Darden, Mary Ellen Mondi, Joy Butler and Erin Gaines.  The vote will take place at the General Meeting on November 13th.

Mueller Commision Meeting – Marta

Discussion on Affordable Housing on Thursday, November 11, 6pm at the Austin Energy Building.

Front Porch Flyer – Pat

Pat has sent a membership article to Kathy Sokolic for the next edition.

Process Document – Ted

Ted reminded us of the MNA Process Document which details  committees/roles and the procedures to fulfil the roles.   He asks for each of us to take a look at our current position and review/update the document.

Meeting adjourned at 9:30 pm.