MNA General Meeting Minutes, December 19, 2020

MNA Secretary Meeting/Meeting Minutes

Location: Telemeeting (via Zoom)

Time: 10 a.m.

Date: Wednesday, December 19, 2020


1.       Greetings and Pleasantries  – John Wooding

2.      Sponsor Recognition – John. John recognized and thanked the 2020

MNA Sponsors:

Neighborhood Navigator – Annual Investment of $2,500

– H-E-B

– Ascension

– Google Fiber

First Class Partner – Annual Investment of $1,000

– Kathy Sokolic – Realty Austin
– DMA Companies

Social Butterfly –  Annual Investment of $250

– Lilla & Beth
– Catellus

3. Community Builder Award Recipients – John. Neighbors nominated Mueller residents who exemplify the spirit of our community and who are notable for their friendly, supportive interactions with their neighbors. This year’s winners, who will receive a certificate and a yard banner, are:

–  Jenn Adair and Naiara Leite, who live next door to one another and who jointly organized the Mueller Black Lives Matter march and observance ceremony  
–  Carmen de la Morena-Chu for being an attentive neighbor who is warm and welcoming to all
–  Taylor Youngblood, who is chair  of the Block Captains committee and who is the Zero Waste Block Captain for the neighborhood

4. Land Use & Transportation Committee – Andrew Clements – The MNA Steering Committee submitted a letter (attached) to the I-35 Capital Express Central Project and our city councilmember, Kathie Tovo; our state senator Sarah Echardt; our state representative Sheryl Cole; and Mayor Steve Adler commenting on the options presented by the Project. The letter supports the removal of the divisive and intrusive upper-level deck in favor of options that are more unifying and that place much of the I-35 corridor in Austin below ground level. The general membership voted to also submit a similar letter on behalf of the MNA overall. Andrew also showed photos of the Woodall Freeway in Dallas (attached) that similarly has lanes below ground level and uses parts of the cap as welcoming green space.

Respectfully submitted 12/28/2020

Alison Raffalovich, Secretary